My Pregnancy journal – Thought for the day – 20Feb14


Thought for the day – 20Feb14

How to handle mixed-up thoughts

First, evaluate the source.

It’s my first pregnancy and what are my fears?

  1. Is my baby safe – with my everyday activities: work, commuting, food I eat, etc.
  2. Is my baby healthy, normal and safe – the fear of unknown
  3. Can I handle the pain of giving birth – I have a very low tolerance with pain
  4. How about the pain after giving birth?
  5. How much will it cost us (hospital expenses) – as of now, we have very limited savings
  6. Set-up after giving birth. Currently, we are renting a 2-bedroom apartment in Sta. Mesa together with my mom (62 yrs. old) and my husband’s sibling. We don’t have any helper so most of the time my mom does the household chores while me and my husband go to work from Monday to Saturday. Manila is already polluted not only with the environment as well with the neighbourhood (sorry to be judgemental but if you are in my shoes will you let your child play outside?). So here are the options: (A) My mom will take care of my baby while we work, will she handle it alone? Or I need to hire a helper to do household chores (additional expense).  (B) My baby will stay in Pampanga with my husband parents. The life is simple, the environment is better than Manila, they have helper who take care of them from their childhood. But, far away from us L So Manila-Pampanga-Manila every now and then at least every week.
  7.  My baby’s future… lol! Not exactly… actually, I want to prepare for his/her education.

Next, find ways to enlighten your burden.

(1) With regards to my baby, I read books & accounts through internet, hear stories from other mom and PRAY. Hearing stories make you feel at ease because you will know that your “normal” since they’ve experience most of what you are experiencing now.

(2) My counterpart for my Fear of the unknown…

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

And for this, I have to trust and have faith to our Creator 🙂

(3) I forgot to save the article that gave me strength regarding this matter. What I remember was… “Woman is designed to endure the pain in giving natural birth.”

If we will recap our history, most of our elders gave birth in their own house without any pain reliever. And in some portion it is still the same procedure especially those who are very limited with the hospital benefits.

And from the story of my colleague. She said “If you are dealing with the labor, focus yourself with your baby… think that you have to deliver him/her immediately. Your baby safety is your number one goal.” So I’ll try not to be vain about the pain… I’ll try to endure it with all my might… for my baby 🙂

And that will be my goal!

(4) I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it 🙂

And I think, handling the pain is less important while your baby is in your arms

(5) For the expenses, I’ll try to do some canvassing and since I have less than 5 months of savings… Good luck to me :p

(6) B is the best option. And I’ll have to deal being away from my baby 6 days a week 😦

(7) Why not! I’ll have to start saving for his/her education. Estimate annual rate increase is 10% how much will it cost me after 19 years from now.

Finally, wear your Positive mind

Coincidentally, my daily reflection for the day is

The remedy of Fear. Read: Psalm 34:1-10

I sought the LORD, and He heard me, and delivered me from all my fears – Psalm 34:4

Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him – Psalm 34:8

Share your thought! 🙂

Leave a Reply

